Today is AT&T’s Don’t Text and Drive Pledge Day in Utah, and with the frequency with which these accidents are occurring, the importance of adhering to a ‘no text and drive’ policy cannot be stressed enough. Perhaps some of you have seen commercials or YouTube videos as part of AT&T’s campaign to combat accidents involving texting while driving. These videos are heart wrenching, as individuals have life swept out from under them in a fraction of a second—much less time than it takes to respond to a text.
It seems that even heavy fines and even jail time are not enough to combat this rising trend. Utah is one of the states that has made texting and driving entirely illegal, stamping a $750 fine and up to three months in jail for simply engaging in the act. If another is injured in the accident, a fine of up to $10,000 and a possible 15 years could be staring you in the face.
It is the role of the law to hold such persons accountable, and is able to levy a significant toll upon the lives of such individuals. It is the role of a car accident lawyer to ensure that victims of such acts do not bear the financial burden for these accidents they did not cause. If you have been the victim of the negligent driving of another, call Christensen & Hymas today (801) 506-0800 to make sure you are compensated. Life may sometimes be unfair, but we will ensure you receive fair compensation for your injuries and suffering.